The Tuileries Gardens get their name from the tile factories which formerly stood on the site where Queen Catherine of Medici built the Tuileries Palace in 1564. The famous gardener King Louis XIV, André Le Nôtre, re-landscaped the gardens in 1664 to give them their name French formal garden style. The gardens, which separate the Louvre from the Place de la Concorde, are a cultural walking place for Parisians and tourists where Maillol statues stand alongside those of Rodin or Giacometti.
The gardens are perfect for relaxation. The Museum of the Orangery, where visitors can admire the works of Monet, is located south-west of Tuileries. From March to December, in French are organized. For lovers of candyfloss, wrinkles and thrills, go to the Tuileries Festival from June to August.