New Zealand Parliament Buildings, Pipitea, Wellington 6160, New Zealand  

Visit Parliament to discover our buildings and heritage, to see what happens when the House sits, and to learn about New Zealand’s democratic processes. Whether you visit us in person in Wellington or take a virtual tour, you can visit Parliament for free.

There are four buildings in Wellington that house New Zealand’s Parliament. They are Parliament House, the Parliamentary Library, the Beehive (also known as the Executive Wing), and Bowen House. These buildings are the centre of our democracy. If you can’t come to Wellington you can take a virtual tour.

Parliament House and the Beehive are landmarks. Here’s the story of Parliament’s places and spaces — from the first small building to the sprawling complex of today.

Parliament House was first occupied in 1918. The previous building was destroyed by fire in 1907. It’s an Edwardian neo-classical building, which was designed by architects, John Campbell and Claude Paton.

Parliament House This is the oldest of Parliament’s buildings. It houses the Parliamentary Library which provides research services for MPs and staff, and also has services for the public.

The ‘Beehive’ is the popular name for the Executive Wing of the parliamentary complex because of the building’s shape. This is where the Prime Minister and Cabinet Ministers have their offices. The Visitor Centre is on the ground floor.

Bowen House is a 22-storey office building. It was the temporary home of Parliament in the 1990’s while Parliament House and the Library were re-strengthened. Today it provides select committee rooms and office space for many MPs and staff.

Epic New Zealand Culture & Adventure Route © Monika Newbound

building Own or work here? Claim Now! Claim Now!