Cooks Cottage

Yorkshire cottage home to James Cook’s family, shipped from England & rebuilt in a city park. Originally located in Yorkshire, England, and built in 1755 by the parents of Captain James Cook, Cooks’ Cottage was brought to Melbourne by Sir Russell Grimwade in 1934. Navigator and explorer Captain James Cook never lived in the cottage – he’d been away from home for almost 10 years when his father built it – but this connection to the Cook family was enough to prompt Grimwade to transport the cottage to the other side of the world. Astonishingly, each brick was individually numbered, packed into barrels and then shipped to Australia, along with cuttings of the original ivy coverings. Come and explore this historic oddity and learn about its English origins and relocation to Melbourne. Bookings are essential for school visits and groups of 8 or more (guided and self-guided).

Show all timings
  • Saturday10:00 - 16:00
  • Sunday10:00 - 16:00
  • Monday10:00 - 16:00
  • Tuesday10:00 - 16:00
  • Wednesday10:00 - 16:00
  • Thursday10:00 - 16:00
  • Friday10:00 - 16:00
building Own or work here? Claim Now! Claim Now!