The Salle Richelieu is the principal theatre of the Comédie-Française. It is located in the Palais-Royal in the first arrondissement of Paris and was originally constructed in 1786–1790 to the designs of the architect Victor Louis. It seats 862 spectators.
The Comédie-Française certainly boasts an impressive ancestry. Based at the Salle Richelieu, near the Louvre, the company has weathered over three centuries of artistic and political storms. In the hallway next to the office of the current director, Eric Ruf, known as the administrator, a list of 51 names is carved into a marble wall. They represent every Comédie-Française dean (an important office, held by the longest-serving company member) since 1658. The first is none other than the playwright Molière – an honorary father figure, since the Comédie-Française was officially born in 1680, the fusion of his troupe and another.